The school year is almost over….

Well, I’m almost done with my year of teaching composition. What I won’t miss:

1. Having to deal with a Level II sex offender in my 9 a.m. class
2. Driving 150 miles a day
3. Weekends wasted grading essays instead of hanging out at the barn with the horses
4. Trying to fix copy machine jams at 8 a.m.
5. The daily routine of grabbing all my stuff on the way out the door (water bottle, papers, flash drive, eye drops, food, etc).
6. Dealing with statewide community college software outages
7. Getting stuck behind spud trucks in the canyon

What I will miss:

1. Hanging out in the adjunct office with my colleagues and some former students who have become really good friends
2. Telling funny stories in class (I’m actually getting pretty decent at this–all good teachers need to develop their inner comedian)
3. Watching students have a great time during a class project
4. Stopping for asparagus at the White Trail fruit stand
5. All Things Considered (thanks to three hours in the car every day, I’m now a total NPR junkie)
6. Drawing bad pictures on the white board

I still have to look for work this summer. Although they’ve told me I can come back part-time again next year, I’m going to try to find something full-time closer to home. Good luck with all that. After my five months of hunting last summer I’d be a fool to get my hopes too high.

But time off=more fun with the horses. Hard to feel too depressed about that.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The school year is almost over….

  1. I’m also an NPR junkie and miss my commute time which delivers me witty conversation (okay, it’s all one way) with knowledgeable people via Morning edition and All Things Considered.

    I wanted to thank you for your wonderful comment on my blog. You captured my state of mind precisely in a way I’d been circling for days. I’m going to take your advice, and give myself time. I’m going back to some basics with Smokey, and finding where the little holes are. And just trying to enjoy it again.

    It’ll take time.

    Looking forward to learning more about your journey with horses. Thanks again from coming by and commenting.

Your turn!

