The Banks May Fail, But the Kochia Will Still Grow

Got news today that our bank failed. Actually it’s more of my sons’ bank than it is ours now, but I did all my banking there when I owned the newspaper.

They will be shutting down the branch that’s in our town, which means the boys will have to do all their banking by mail or move accounts.

Since I’ve had problems finding full-time work for over a year now, I’ve done my share of thinking about the economy–and battling the resultant depression/anger/helplessness that comes right along with that.

Anyone with horses who suffers a severe financial setback knows the gut-churning worry about expenses–and if there is one hard-and-fast rule with horses, it’s that there are ALWAYS unexpected expenses. So far we’ve been able to keep our horses, but I know that may change tomorrow.

But there are upsides, too, really. One of the very best fringe benefits of not having any money is you don’t have to worry about losing it. That comes in handy when the Dow is doing its best belly-up impression.

No. 1 son and I worked on the weeds in front of our house this morning…apparently our small town decided they’re not going to spray the weeds along the roadway up in our neck of the woods (probably due to budget cuts). That decision has resulted in giant mutant kochia–we have plants as tall as I am around the fringes of our yard, where they’ve been able to sneak a little water. It was quite a job to get rid of them.

I discovered that if I put my phone in my back pocket upside down, the speaker still pokes up, allowing us to listen to disco tunes while we worked (not that I actually listen to disco music or anything. Ahem.).

The Poor Man's Alfalfa?

Kochia is one of the weeds that my horses like, and according to what I’ve read, it’s  got quite a bit of protein in it–but it’s also got oxalates, so you have to be careful.  Normally the mares eat the tops off and keep the plants grazed down starting from early spring on, and the grazed plants lose their mojo pretty quickly.

Kochia is drought resistant (if your kochia weeds are wilted, it’s a hot day) and it’s tougher than snot once it gets big. The baby plants are small, cute, easily-damaged gray-green fuzzy things, and if you’ve got a patch of disturbed dirt out here in the springtime, chances are that it will be covered with a fuzzy layer of baby kochias.

I’ve often fantasized about bringing the mares home for weed control–even the weeds they don’t eat they often kill by lounging on top of them for a while–but big strapping boys are pretty lethal, too.

I half-jokingly suggested to No. 1 son that he fetch the axe when he started to work on the monsters, but he is a ninja shovel master after a summer of hand labor and made short work of it.

Some things never change. Yes, the banks may fail, but the kochia will still be growing. I find that strangely comforting.

9 Comments

Filed under Posty post

9 responses to “The Banks May Fail, But the Kochia Will Still Grow

  1. That’s one weed we (fortunately) don’t have here and I hope it never arrives!

  2. You must live near me. That is our bank that shut down. Our business account is run through it and we live very close to one of the buildings that is being shut down. I couldn’t believe it Friday when I read that. There were a bunch of cars there Friday night and a police car. Yesterday there was a police car and few other cars (probably employees). We still don’t know what it means for us. It’s going to be interesting. And I’m scared to death of tomorrow with our credit downgrade. It’s getting worse…and yes, that does scare me for my horses.

  3. We have taken very hard blows financially and yet today I am feeling very blessed. Family just left after a birthday party and it reinforces the thing I know but often lose sight of. Nothing I really value is being lost.

    I’m still loved.
    I still love.
    I can feed and house my family, and if I can’t we will circle our wagons and take care of one another.

    (That said, it still sux)

  4. Geez, the bank closing??? You have had a really tough go of it. I look at that weed and think it how its survival instincts are so strong; it will root in a little dirt and grow and grow, standing firm. The tenacity and resilience of the Kochia could be an example to all of us. 🙂

  5. I don’t think we have that weed here, it’s certainly a hardly little sucker. Times are tough right now for so many. Banks shutting down really scare me. I hope this economy turns around soon.

  6. Can you pull it and dry it as a hay supplement? That way it would at least be useful.

  7. Pingback: Other Peoples’ Horses | Pork Belly Acres

  8. I know this is old but I wanted to comment anyhow. Because it does have a high protein content and also a sugar content it can cause horses to founder. Most horses won’t eat enough to cause a problem but I have a horse who will find it and eat it before anything else and he foundered bad. So if you do use it for feed make sure that they graze on it in the early morning when the sugar content is the lowest.

Your turn!

